Kids Being Exposed to Sexually Explicit Material

What are my kids seeing online?

With advances in technology, children can now go online and find information on just about anything. Never before has a child had such open and unlimited access to information. This progress is wonderful, but at the same time, not so wonderful. While children now have fun, informative and educational content at their fingertips, they are also easily exposed to adult pornography that is very graphic and often disturbing for even most adults to view! Although this material is legal, it doesn't mean the content is harmless to kids who view it.

While many parents believe that their children have not seen inappropriate content online, kids are saying something very different. The reality is that children as young as 8 and 9 years of age are coming across very sexually explicit material on the Internet.

How are they coming across it?

Accidentally: Oops!

It is very common for children to accidentally come across sexually explicit content. For example, a child may incorrectly type in a website address into a web browser and find themselves on a site s/he did not intend to. This can be an upsetting experience as kids are not developmentally ready to see such graphic information, nor are they expecting to see it. Research has shown that children do not have the means to process it emotionally or intellectually.

Curiosity: Hmmm...I wonder about...

Kids, especially during adolescence, are naturally curious about sexuality and often turn to the Internet to find information of this nature. While searching for information they can be exposed to very graphic and potentially harmful material. Adolescents want to learn about sexuality and relationships, but do not have the experience to compare with some of the graphic material they come across. The result, as research has demonstrated, is that the material can end up being a teaching tool, as the viewing of it can potentially shape and influence a child's development of values and their belief of what a healthy sexual relationship is.

They are just pictures. How can that be harmful?

Research suggests that early exposure to sexually graphic material is likely to have a negative influence and a potentially harmful impact on children. Children deal with this type of information very differently than adults do. In the past, people thought that because children didn't understand sexually graphic information they weren't affected by it. Today, we know differently. Research has shown that while children do not have the emotional maturity, experience or knowledge to understand sexual content, they may unconsciously store the experience in their brains and try to make sense of what they have seen. It can be quite stressful and they will sometimes find ways to act it out to try to make sense of it. Impact can vary depending on the child, the content viewed and the circumstances around how it was viewed.

So... why is it a big deal?

The sexually graphic material found online often shows violence and the dehumanization of people in sexual scenes, especially women. According to experts, explicit pornography can form powerful, but false ideas about healthy relationships and sexuality. It often lacks details of intimacy and doesn't show the development of deep personal relationships. Rather, it encourages sexual acts without any emotional connection or concern for the dignity and respect of the other person. Human sexuality involves emotional, spiritual, and intellectual dimensions as well as physical. Research has demonstrated that all of these are required for a healthy, fulfilling relationship.

What is the possible harm to kids?

Exposure to sexually explicit material:

  • May begin to shape a child's sexual values, attitudes, beliefs and behaviours:

    • May prematurely sexualize a child
    • May incite a child to experiment with sexually explicit behaviour to make sense of it
    • May increase a child's social acceptance of high-risk behaviour
    • May shape a child's expectations in relationships
    • May shape a child's expectations of physical appearances and certain sexual acts
    • May increase a child's risk of victimization, as it may blur boundaries
    • May increase a child's health risks (i.e. sexually transmitted infections, sexual exploitation, etc.)
    • May increase a child's risk of problematic sexual behaviour against other children in an effort to experiment
    • May interfere with a child's healthy sexual development

Signs that your child may be experiencing stress from viewing sexually graphic information online

The following are signs that a child may be experiencing distress:

  • There are noticeable changes in her/his typical behaviour. The child seems easily agitated, overly sensitive and emotional.
  • Your child mentions the image s/he saw is interfering with her/his other thoughts. It seems to keep "popping" into her/his head.
  • Your child begins to experience difficulty sleeping.

How can I respond?

Be emotionally available and willing to listen to your child. When a child goes through a stressful experience, it is helpful for them to just have someone who cares about them to talk to without fear of judgment.

What can I do to reduce the chance of my child accessing pornography?

It is important to remember that we cannot keep children shielded within a bubble, nor would we want to! What we need to do is balance empowering children with protecting them.

Suggestions include:

  • Be involved in what your child is doing.
  • Set limits on what your child is allowed to watch (e.g. Internet, television and video games).
  • Supervise your child when s/he is online.
  • Set up parental controls on your computer.
  • Talk openly to your child about the hidden negative messages in media, music, fashion and advertising (e.g. the glorification of violence, sexual harm, power and control, and gender stereotypes).
  • Provide a standard of measure about healthy relationships and healthy sexuality that your child can compare to when trying to make sense of mass media messages.
  • Foster positive body image.
  • Foster positive gender identities. Discuss:
    • Different types of relationships (e.g. acquaintance, intimate, sexual, etc.)
    • The difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships
    • The difference between respecting and breaking personal boundaries
    • The rights and responsibilities associated with sexual behaviour
    • The health risks associated with sexual activity
    • The importance of self-worth and dignity
Add Your Comment
Anonymous wrote:
April 19, 2016 10:42 pm

Can a child that has been exposed to sexually explicit material accuse someone of doing sexual acts to him or her when it has not really happened?

Anonymous wrote:
May 2, 2016 3:46 pm

Any child discussing exposure to sexually explicit material or sexual touching needs to be taken seriously and reported to an agency who has specialized training and is responsible for handling these types of situations, such as child welfare and police. In Canada, there is a legal duty to report a child in need of protection.

Anonymous wrote:
April 9, 2016 8:40 pm

When people buy a device it should have parental control pre installed by law and the adult should be given instructions and guidance on how/why/if they should use it.

Anonymous wrote:
March 13, 2016 3:40 pm

I am smart I do not do those things!

Anonymous wrote:
December 26, 2014 12:12 pm

I wish adult content was moved to an all adult entertainment site and could no be accessed without a user account, date of birth and password so that kids online would be much safer

Anonymous wrote:
February 18, 2016 1:11 am
Anonymous wrote:
November 19, 2015 12:57 am

But they want kids to get accessed to it so that these sex industries earn more. The more people watching it more industries earn

Anonymous wrote:
November 16, 2015 10:31 pm

the date of birth could be faked

Anonymous wrote:
November 10, 2014 11:30 am

When young children are exposed to sexually graphic material they cannot process the information. If you are experiencing distress or intrusive thoughts from exposure during childhood, you should consult a health professional who can help you process the experience.

Ask an Expert!

UNE PORTE GRANDE OUVERTE : DES ENFANTS QUI S’AMUSENT DANS UN MONDE DÉPOURVU DE CENSURE

Que voient mes enfants sur Internet?

Avec les progrès technologiques, les enfants ont maintenant accès à des informations en ligne sur à peu près tout et n’importe quoi. Jamais auparavant un enfant n’a-t-il eu un accès aussi libre et illimité à l’information. Ces progrès sont à la fois fantastiques et inquiétants. Alors que les enfants s’amusent désormais avec du contenu informatif et éducatif au bout des doigts, ils risquent aussi d’être exposés à une pornographie très graphique et troublante, même pour les adultes. Bien que ce matériel soit légal, il n’en est pas moins offensif pour les enfants qui le regardent.

Même si bon nombre de parents sont convaincus que leurs enfants n’ont pas vu de contenu inadéquat en ligne, les enfants disent le contraire. En réalité, c’est par hasard que des enfants de huit et neuf ans tombent sur des sites au contenu sexuel très explicite sur Internet.

Par l’intermédiaire des groupes consultatifs pédagogiques Enfants avertis, le Centre canadien de la protection de l’enfance a établi que 34 % des élèves de quatrième année avaient vu des images inappropriées en ligne.

Comment tombent-ils sur ces images ?

Par hasard : Oups!

Il est très fréquent que les enfants tombent par hasard sur des sites au contenu sexuel explicite. L’enfant peut faire une erreur de frappe en tapant une adresse de site Web dans un navigateur et se retrouver sur un site inapproprié. Ce type d’expérience pourrait s’avérer bouleversante, car les enfants ne sont pas prêts et ne s’attendent pas à voir de telles informations graphiques. Des recherches ont démontré que les enfants ne sont pas en mesure de traiter ces informations, tant sur le plan émotionnel qu’intellectuel.

Curiosité : Hmmm... je me demande si...

Tout particulièrement à l’adolescence, les enfants sont naturellement curieux en ce qui concerne la sexualité et se tournent souvent vers Internet pour trouver ce genre d’information. De telles recherches risquent de les exposer à un contenu très graphique et potentiellement dangereux. Les adolescents veulent en savoir plus sur la sexualité et les relations intimes, mais ils ne possèdent pas l’expérience nécessaire pour établir des comparaisons avec le contenu graphique trouvé par hasard. Comme les recherches ont permis de le démontrer, le contenu finit par être un outil d’apprentissage, sa visualisation risquant de former et d’influencer le développement des valeurs de l’enfant et sa perception de ce que constitue une relation saine.

Ce ne sont que des images. Comment pourraient-elles être dangereuses ?

Il n’est pas étonnant que la recherche suggère qu’une exposition précoce à un contenu graphique de nature sexuelle risque d’avoir une influence négative et des répercussions potentiellement nuisibles sur les enfants. Les enfants traitent ce genre d’information de manière bien différente des adultes. Il n’y a pas si longtemps encore, on croyait que les enfants n’étaient pas affectés par ce genre d’information visuelle à caractère sexuel, étant donné qu’ils n’en saisissaient pas la nature. Aujourd’hui, nous savons qu’il en est autrement. Les recherches ont établi que même si les enfants ne possèdent pas la maturité émotionnelle, l’expérience ou les connaissances nécessaires pour saisir un contenu de nature sexuelle, ils peuvent inconsciemment emmagasiner l’expérience dans leur cerveau et tenter de trouver une logique dans ce qu’ils ont vu. Cela peut s’avérer très stressant, et les enfants trouveront parfois des moyens d’extérioriser cette expérience pour tenter de lui donner un sens. Les répercussions peuvent varier selon la personnalité de l’enfant et le contenu visualisé.

Et alors... quel est le problème ?

Le contenu graphique de nature sexuelle consulté en ligne contient souvent des scènes de violence et de déshumanisation des personnes, particulièrement des femmes, au cours de relations sexuelles. Selon les experts, la pornographie explicite peut façonner des idées puissantes mais fausses sur la sexualité et sur des relations saines. Il y manque souvent les détails de l’intimité et le développement de relations interpersonnelles profondes. Ces images mettent plutôt l’accent sur l’acte sexuel dépouillé de toute émotion, sans se soucier de la dignité et du respect de l’autre. La sexualité humaine comprend des dimensions émotionnelles, spirituelles et intellectuelles autant que physiques. Les recherches ont établi que toutes ces dimensions sont nécessaires pour vivre une relation saine et satisfaisante.

Quel tort cela fait-il aux enfants ?

  • Cela risque de commencer à façonner les valeurs, les attitudes et les comportements sexuels de l’enfant.
  • Cela risque d’éveiller prématurément la sexualité de l’enfant.
  • Cela peut l’inciter à faire l’expérience d’un comportement sexuellement explicite pour y trouver un sens.
  • Cela peut augmenter l’acceptabilité sociale d’un comportement à risque élevé.
  • Cela peut modifier les attentes dans les relations intimes.
  • Cela peut façonner les attentes concernant l’apparence physique et certains actes sexuels.
  • Cela peut accroître le risque de victimisation, ou estomper les limites de ce qui est permis.
  • Cela peut accroître les risques pour la santé (p. ex. infections transmises sexuellement, exploitation).
  • Cela peut accroître le risque de comportement sexuel problématique sérieux à l’égard d’autres enfants, dans le but d’expérimenter.
  • Cela peut nuire au développement de pratiques sexuelles saines.

Surveillez si votre enfant manifeste des signes de stress après avoir vu des images sur Internet

  • Vous notez des changements perceptibles dans son comportement habituel. L’enfant est facilement agité, hypersensible et émotif.
  • Il mentionne que l’image qu’il a vue s’immisce dans ses pensées. Elle n’arrête pas de surgir dans sa tête.

Comment dois-je réagir ?

Montrez à votre enfant que vous êtes là pour lui et soyez à son écoute. Lorsqu’un enfant vit une expérience stressante, il est important qu’il puisse se confier à une personne qui se soucie de lui.

Que puis-je faire pour réduire les risques que mon enfant ait accès à la pornographie ?

Il est important de se rappeler que nous ne pouvons pas protéger nos enfants contre tous les risques possibles, et ce n’est pas non plus ce que nous cherchons à faire ! Il faut plutôt établir un juste équilibre entre la protection de l’enfant et le renforcement de son autonomie.

Voici certaines suggestions :

  • Participez aux activités de vos enfants.
  • Établissez des limites à l’égard de ce qu’ils peuvent regarder (p. ex. Internet, la télévision et les jeux vidéo).
  • Gardez un œil sur eux lorsqu’ils sont en ligne.
  • Installez un logiciel de contrôle parental sur votre ordinateur.
  • Discutez avec vos enfants des fausses représentations des relations véhiculées par les médias.
  • Discutez ouvertement des messages négatifs dissimulés dans les médias, la musique, la mode et la publicité (p. ex. la valorisation de la violence, les méfaits du sexe, le pouvoir et le contrôle ainsi que les stéréotypes).
  • Établissez un modèle qui leur permettra d’évaluer à quoi ressemblent des relations et une sexualité saines lorsqu’ils tentent de saisir le sens des messages véhiculés par les médias de masse.
  • Favorisez le développement d’une image corporelle positive.
  • Favorisez l’établissement d’une identité sexuelle positive. Discutez :
    • Des divers types de relations (p. ex., simple connaissance, ami intime, partenaire sexuel)
    • De la différence entre les relations saines et malsaines
    • De la différence entre le respect et le non-respect des limites personnelles
    • Des droits et des responsabilités en matière de comportement sexuel
    • Des risques pour la santé associés à l’activité sexuelle
    • De l’importance de l’estime de soi
Publie Un Commentaire
Anonymous a écrit :
April 19, 2016 10:42 pm

Can a child that has been exposed to sexually explicit material accuse someone of doing sexual acts to him or her when it has not really happened?

Anonymous a écrit :
May 2, 2016 3:46 pm

Any child discussing exposure to sexually explicit material or sexual touching needs to be taken seriously and reported to an agency who has specialized training and is responsible for handling these types of situations, such as child welfare and police. In Canada, there is a legal duty to report a child in need of protection.

Anonymous a écrit :
April 9, 2016 8:40 pm

When people buy a device it should have parental control pre installed by law and the adult should be given instructions and guidance on how/why/if they should use it.

Anonymous a écrit :
March 13, 2016 3:40 pm

I am smart I do not do those things!

Anonymous a écrit :
December 26, 2014 12:12 pm

I wish adult content was moved to an all adult entertainment site and could no be accessed without a user account, date of birth and password so that kids online would be much safer

Anonymous a écrit :
February 18, 2016 1:11 am
Anonymous a écrit :
November 19, 2015 12:57 am

But they want kids to get accessed to it so that these sex industries earn more. The more people watching it more industries earn

Anonymous a écrit :
November 16, 2015 10:31 pm

the date of birth could be faked

Anonymous a écrit :
November 10, 2014 11:30 am

When young children are exposed to sexually graphic material they cannot process the information. If you are experiencing distress or intrusive thoughts from exposure during childhood, you should consult a health professional who can help you process the experience.

Consulter un expert